At last I have found the perfect medium for my illustrations.
Recently I have taken up Pyrography, and now Slate Paintings are adding to the illustrative art mediums that are really working for me and some are now appearing in my Etsy shop.

Illustrations on a pieces of found slate in Suffolk are influenced by many different trees – so far they are the silver birch (my tree of hearts) the bonsai red berry tree (my white berry trees), wind blown trees on the moors of Yorkshire and trees in the moonlight.
The pieces of slate I’m working on at the moment are in the region of 4x5cm to 10x9cm with a thickness of 3-5mm. They are all washed and sterilised thoroughly before applying paint. The paint is waterproof, lightfast and permanent.

They are proving to be quite popular with lots of great feedback.
Here are some photos:
1. Tree of Hearts 1
2. Tree on the Moors
3. Tree under a Love Boat Moon
4. White Berry Tree 1

all ©Deborah Eileen Burrow 2009