Well, you will see from my work in progress that painting Spring Willows was a bit erratic in direction.  I was starting to feel like I was trying to say something when I couldn’t speak. Frustrating!  So in looking over the progress I tried to work out where it started to go wrong, and where I liked it best.  My favourite stage was phase 2.  So when I got to phase 4, I retraced my steps.  I did a bit of subtraction with alcohol and painted a light layer of transparent white.  Now I’m back at a place where I can proceed.  Actually its better all round as there are blotches from previous stages showing through under the white, so it looks great.  Here are the phases 4 and 5:

With this creative turn in direction, I am back on track, with relief!  Lets see what happens with the next couple of sittings…

